Official name: Bosnia and Herzegovina (most commonly abbreviated as BiH)

Capital city: Sarajevo (population 500.000)

Other major cities: Banja Luka, Bihać, Mostar,Tuzla, Zenica

Geographic location: South Eastern Europe, borders with Croatia (932km), Serbia (312km) and Montenegro (215km)

Area: 51.209 km2

Population: 3.8 million

Religions: Muslim (44%), Orthodox Christian (32%), Roman Catholic (17%), Others (7%)

Ethnic groups: Bosniaks, Serbs, Croats and others

Languages: Bosnian, Serbian, Croatian (all official)

Administrative organization: Two entities (Federation of BiH and Republika Srpska) and Brcko District of BiH

Government Structure: BiH is a parliamentary democracy with a bicameral parliament (House of Representatives and House of Peoples), a three-member rotating presidency, a Council of Ministers, and Constitutional Court

GDP: 13.1 billion EUR (2012)

GDP per capita: 3.419 EUR (2012)

Exchange rate: 1 EUR = KM 1.95 (fixed exchange rate)

Landforms: A very hilly country with the Dinaric mountains dominating the landscape. The highest point, Mt. Magli, rises to 2,387m. Thick forests cover almost 50% of the land. In the north, along the Sava River valley, a hilly, fertile plain stretches east to west. The country has 23 km of coastline in the southwest of the country, providing access to the Adriatic Sea.

Climate: Winters can be very cold with a lot of snow, especially in the hills and mountains. Summers are generally warm and comfortable.

Latitude/longitude: 44 N, 18 E

Time zone: CET (GMT + 1 hour)

Internet domain: .ba

Int. telephone code: +387